ICL Announces 20s World Series Tournament in Hyderabad

ICL 20s World Series Tournament


ICL Team IndiaICL Team PakistanICL World 11

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) has announced that a 20s World Series Tournament, pitting the best Pakistanis and Indians playing in the ICL against a ‘best of the rest’ side will take place after the conclusion of the current 20s Grand Championship.

The tournament will be held in Hyderabad from April 9th to April 15th and will see the three sides, ICL India, ICL Pakistan, and ICL World play each other two times before a final.

Announcing the ICL World Series 2008, Kapil Dev, Chairman, Executive Board, Indian Cricket League (ICL) said, “The level of cricket at ICL is on an ascendancy mode. Throughout the Edelweiss 20s Challenge, we saw our boys come out with stand-out performances, which shaped the results of some high standard cricket matches.

“With ICL World Series 2008, our promising domestic boys will face the toughest challenge of proving their cricketing credentials against two of the mightiest teams in the world. These Indian players will be selected after a thorough selection process by the Executive Board along with the Selection committee, based on their growth as cricketers and respective individual performance. The Final Indian squad will be selected after the Edelweiss 20s Challenge’s second semi finals.”

“Currently the Lahore Badshahs have raised the bar as far as competitiveness goes. Now it is for the other two teams, especially ICL India to raise their standard of play to match up to the competition”, Kapil added.

Inzamam-ul-Haq will lead the ICL Pakistan side, which will be largely based around the unbeaten Lahore Badshahs side, and New Zealander Chris Cairns will captain the ICL World team. Coaches for the sides will be Moin Khan (Pakistan), John Emburey (World) and Steve Rixon (India).

The Squads:

ICL World XI: Chris Cairns (capt), Russel Arnold, Marvan Atapattu, Upul Chandana, Matthew Elliot, Andrew Hall, Chris Harris, Ian Harvey, Michael Kasprowicz, Jimmy Maher, Damien Martyn, Daryl Tuffey, Johan van der Wath, Lou Vincent (wk),

Coach – John Emburey

ICL Pakistan XI: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Arshad Khan, Hasan Raza, Humayun Farhat (wk), Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Sami, Naved-ul-Hasan, Naved Latif, Riaz Afridi, Shabbir Ahmed, Shahid Nazir, Taufeeq Umar

Coach – Moin Khan

ICL India XI: R Sathish, Abbas Ali, Love Ablish, Abu Nechim, Stuart Binny, Rohan Gavaskar, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Ibrahim Khaleel (wk), Thiru Kumaran, Ali Murtaza, Raviraj Patil, S Saravanan, TP Singh, TP Sudhindhra, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammed, G Vignesh

Coach – Steve Rixon

Tournament Schedule

Match Timings – All Matches begin at 19:00 hrs, (7 PM Indian Standard Time)

Venue Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Basheerbagh, Hyderabad


April 9th, Wednesday: ICL India v ICL World
April 10th, Thursday: ICL Pakistan v ICL World
April 11th, Friday: ICL India v ICL Pakistan
April 12th, Saturday: ICL India v ICL World
April 13th, Sunday: ICL India v ICL Pakistan
April 14th, Monday: ICL Pakistan v ICL World
April 15th, Tuesday: Final

1 Comment Posted

  1. The best Indian team performance and it is now the best ever cricket display in the worls and keep up the good work Kapil Dev you have set the world of cricket alive and the World can be very proud of you. Cricket is no longer boring and it is the best thing that happen to criket game in its whole life todate.. Keep up your good work Kapil Dev. You are an asset to India be proud of it.India the nation that sets trend on and off the pitch in the cricket world….

Leave a Reply